Skip to main content
Product Recycling Fund
The price of this item includes a contribution to a Product recycling fund to ensure that waste electrical and electronic equipment is collected and recycled in a responsible manner.

STRANDMON Wing chair, Skiftebo light beige

$249.00
The price reflects selected options
Article Number: 
403.610.52
Cabinet number:: 
STRANDMON Wing chair is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 160.
  • y_2018, m_5, d_30, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_160
  • loc_en_US, sid_ART-40361052, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ikeaglobal
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.2.0.4
  • getAggregateRating, method:LOCAL, 1ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Bringing new life to an old favorite. We first introduced this chair in the 1950’s. Some 60 years later we brought it back into the range with the same craftsmanship, comfort and appearance. Enjoy!
This combination is not available.
Store selection may vary and prices may differ from those online.
Store Delivery
Store Delivery

Most of our products are designed and packaged so that you can take them home yourself. If you prefer, we can arrange delivery (by an independent company) of your purchases directly to your home or business to the room of your choice. Same day, next day or same week deliveries are available. We can also arrange delivery at a later date if you would like.

Click for details.
-You can really loosen up and relax in comfort because the high back on this chair provides extra support for your neck.
-10-year limited warrranty. Read about the terms in the limited warranty brochure.
Good to know
Can be used with STRANDMON ottoman to increase your sitting comfort.
Care instructions
Cushion cover
Do not wash.
Do not bleach.
Do not tumble dry.
Do not iron.
Do not dry clean.

Frame, non-removable cover
Clean with upholstery shampoo.
Vacuum clean.
Product dimensions
Width: 32 1/4 "
Depth: 37 3/4 "
Height: 39 3/4 "
Seat width: 19 1/4 "
Seat depth: 21 1/4 "
Seat height: 17 3/4 "

Width: 82 cm
Depth: 96 cm
Height: 101 cm
Seat width: 49 cm
Seat depth: 54 cm
Seat height: 45 cm

This product requires assembly
Designer:
IKEA of Sweden
Product description
Total composition: 100 % polyester
Frame: Solid wood, Plywood, Particleboard, Polyurethane foam 1.5 lb/cu.ft., Polyurethane foam 2.2 lb/cu.ft., Polyester wadding
Seat cushion: Polyurethane foam 2.2 lb/cu.ft., Polyester wadding
Leg: Solid beech, Clear lacquer
Downloads
Only the latest version of the documents is available for download. This means that there maybe a difference in this version and the printed version.
Assembly instructions
403.610.52 STRANDMON Wing chair (PDF)
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chair! I was looking for a nice, neutral and affordable wing chair. This one match all my expectations. It's not too hard to put together, and feels steady. Size wise, it gives me enough space to put a giant puffy pillow.
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice to look at but uncomfortable to sit on I sat on it in the store it was fine At home back of seat awkward and uncomfortable
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product all around! We’ve owned this chair for a little over a month now, and we couldn’t be happier! It’s a great fit for my husbands office. Very sturdy and extremely comfortable. We’re looking to buy this chair in another color for another room soon!
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these chairs We purchased two of the Strandmon chairs and everyone in my family loves them. They are very comfortable. I love the style. Great chairs!
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As comfortable as it is lovely I bought this chair to coordinate with a Karlstadt couch in Sitka Green that I had in my sitting room. It was fairly easy to put together, and, as most Ikea upholstered furniture, it looked seamless and sturdy once set up. It is also just a comfortable as it is attractive. I only buy furniture that can actually be used and tend to prioritize comfort over looks - but this has a great combination of both. The print coordinates nicely with the green Karlstadt couch, but has enough variety that if I change the couch color later, the chair will still fit. Best of all it gives me a comfortable reading and knitting chair in a quiet part of the house. I am very pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, comfortable chair We weren't even in the market for another chair, but when my husband sat in it we had to have it. Looks great and easy to put together.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece This chair cradles you. While it may not be the softest chair ever, it makes up for that in form.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from strandmon wing chair I bought 2 of these chairs about a month ago. I don't necessarily love them. They are somewhat comfortable. You get what you pay for applies to this particular product.
Date published: 2018-05-16
  • y_2018, m_5, d_30, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_160
  • loc_en_US, sid_ART-40361052, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ikeaglobal
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.2.0.4
  • getReviews, method:LOCAL, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

More

From vintage sitting to modern life

At IKEA we always ask, how can our products do a better job of meeting your everyday needs at home? Sometimes the answer is to break things into bits and pieces. That’s exactly what we did with STRANDMON wing chair. The design is inspired by an IKEA chair from the 50's called MK – which was a favorite of IKEA founder, Ingvar Kamprad. It was on the cover of our first catalog and described as giving “royal comfort” – a feature that seems as appreciated 65 years ago as it is today.

Back when the MK chair came out, most people used chairs just to sit in. Perhaps while having civil conversations or maybe reading the newspaper. Nowadays, many of us curl up in our chairs, often with computers or tablets. We drape our legs over armrests and eat where we sit. Some family members use chairs as trampolines when they think no one is watching, or take naps in them when no one is home. Ulf Engström, Product Developer at IKEA, explains what a piece of furniture like STRANDMON has to put up with these days. “It’s tested to make sure it can take a person that sits and gets up at least 50,000 times. That’s the same as sitting and getting up once a day, for 136 years.”

When STRANDMON was developed, the aim was to create a comfortable and high quality chair that was a real bargain. The price is something Ulf and his colleagues have continued to work on. For example, by putting STRANDMON in a flat pack. “It has made it possible to have a new lower price and reduce emissions during transportation, explains Ulf. The flat pack will also make picking up and bringing home STRANDMON a whole lot easier, especially for everyone who doesn’t have access to a car that can fit a pre-assembled wing chair.

Some things never change

The wing chair perhaps had its golden era 65 years ago, but who knows, it might be considered a must-have in people's homes once again. “More and more of us feel a need to get away from the hustle and bustle every now and then. When you sit in STRANDMON, the wings make surrounding noise feel lower and you get a sensation of a big, warm hug,” describes Ulf. “People have changed the way they live since the 50's, but the need for affordable quality furniture is still the same. I think that is one of the reasons why STRANDMON is so popular,” says Ulf. The flat pack and the lower price – together with new colors and patterns – will definitely make it easier for more people to find the right spot for STRANDMON in their home. And maybe even experience some well-deserved royal comfort.

More Fabric armchairs

You can really loosen up and relax in comfort because the high back on this chair provides extra support for your neck. 10-year limited warrranty. Read about the terms in the limited warranty brochure. https://www.ikea.com/us/en/images/products/strandmon-wing-chair-beige__0513996_PE639275_S4.JPG STRANDMON Wing chair, Skiftebo light beige 403.610.52 IKEA $249.00